DEARBORN — AAA Michigan expressed its approval of the Michigan House Transportation Committee for passing three bills on Thursday designed to strengthen the current distracted driving law, House Bills 4181, 4198 and 4199.
The bills will enact several measures, including prohibiting any individual under the age of 18-years-old from using a cell phone in any way while driving.
The new bills will also expand on prohibited uses of a cell phone beyond just “texting and driving” to reflect current technological capabilities such as social media, gaming, recording or watching video, sending or reading emails, a press release from AAA said.
The fine has also been increased from $100 to $250 for a first offense and from $200 to $500 for a subsequent offense.
Handheld cell phone use is also included.
“It is important to remember hands-free is not risk free,” said Heather Drake, vice president of Government Relations and Public Affairs, at AAA Michigan. “Most drivers believe that if their eyes are on the road and their hands are on the wheel, then they are focused on the drive, but research proves that there are hidden dangers when using a cell phone or in-vehicle technology.”